Artistic yoga: One month along

So, as you know I have recently hit the 3.0 milestone. Around a month before this fear-evoking day, I happened to feel the urge to do more with my life. I felt stagnated. My talents in some self-satisfied limbo. I was feeling good enough. Which is not enough. I needed more. So I did what all serious researchers do. I turned to Google. And like a crazed person, I was on the hunt. I was hunting for more meaning. For ways to push myself. For adding a dimension to my character. And I found it. In 2 forms. But I will focus on the first one. I found Bharat Thakur’s Artistic Yoga. To give you some perspective, their website explains what Artistic yoga is:

‘The brainchild of Himalayan Master Bharat Thakur, Artistic Yoga was developed in 1999 when Bharat saw that the Yoga being taught and practiced all over the world and in India was in no way as powerful, dynamic and immediate as authentic Yoga could be.’

Now it all sounds great on paper. But let me tell you why I was nervous to embark on this adventure. I had been told by other yoga enthusiasts that this was the ‘next level’ of yoga. I was scared. What did this next level imply? What would happen to me? Another friend told me the pounds would melt away, but I would be working my a– off for it. I was more scared. If it was so effective, they wouldn’t make it easy on me. But I knew it was now or never. If I dint take the plunge now, I would forever stand on the edge of the cliff. The cliff titled ‘do it tomorrow you have your whole life ahead of you.’

There was no stopping me now. I changed into my trusty work out gear and showed up at this fitness class. Mind you, the first impression was not too impressive. I walked in expecting to find fit, chiseled fitness freaks. I was faced with overweight, distraught housewives. My heart sank. This couldn’t be right. This class is for ‘next level’ workout junkies. Wasn’t it? (I have yet to figure out why these aunties are not budging in weight, but I have not let it hold me back so far)

So i decided to set my impressions aside, and trudged into the yoga room. I set my things down, and began the workout. And was I in a pleasant surprise. My heart was racing in the first 5 minutes. How could this be? How could the instructor take simple moves and give them a cardio twist? Within 15 minutes I could hear my heartbeat ringing in my ears. This is exactly what I had heard about it. It was killing me. And I was beginning to panic. I could never keep up with this. Could I?

30 minutes passed, slowly. And then an hour. And it was over. I couldn’t feel my legs. Or my arms for that matter. I was in serious pain. This wasn’t an adventure, this was a mission! So I happily went to the receptionist, signed up, and haven’t regretted it since.

Something about artistic yoga just makes one feel good, at least it makes me feel great. It leaves you with a sense of achievement (clothes fitting slightly better isn’t so bad either). I am eager to continue this class and hopefully, my schedule will continue to allow it. I recommend it to everyone who is contemplating adding yoga to their fitness regime. It’s a move you won’t regret (get the pun?).

 

One thought on “Artistic yoga: One month along

Leave a Reply

